Jking2's Blog

About Me

Posted on: September 23, 2009

My name is Jeimi King and I am 18 years old. I am Originally from Hollywood, CA, but ever since I was 8 I have been living in Madison, WI. I started getting into art ever since I was a child. I was always getting yelled at by my parents for drawing everywhere. Not only on surfaces like paper and walls, but i also would always draw on myself. I did a lot of art in middle school, elementary school, and kindergarden. Once i got into high school i only did art outside of the school. I tried to get into an art class all four years of high school but they were always so full. I finally got one my senior year but I thought the whole process was unfair. I became very close with my art teacher and i told her my problem. She was shocked and she said the system was unfair because the reason why i probably didn’t get into an art class was because at my school the art and cooking classes were the classes that all the bad students who needed an easy A would be put into by counselors. That is unfair because people like me who knew they wanted to go into art as a career could have really used the four years of guidance and the four years of developing a great portfolio. The good thing was that during the summer of 2008, I came to SAIC for the early college program. Here I found myself in an intense but fun 2 week class of beginners oil painting. I had the best teacher in the world and it really inspired me even more to be a better artist. I learned a lot of things while i was here for the summer and i knew immediately that this is where i wanted to go for school. The day that I was accepted to this school was the best day of my life. Words can’t express how happy and thankful I am to be here. I mainly do abstract oil painting, but i would like to go into digital animation and something in the field of computer graphics.ecp

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

More Photos
